es | eu | en
home  |  news 2018  |  Ben Russell, Josh Siegel, Naomi Uman and Josep Maria Català to make up the festival's jury
FILM FINDERIr a Buscador de Películas
Punto de Vista Collection
Ben Russell, Josh Siegel, Naomi Uman and Josep Maria Català to make up the festival's jury
Ben Russell, Josh Siegel, Naomi Uman and Josep Maria Català to make up the festival's jury
Punto de Vista has chosen almost all the judges who will make up the jury for next year’s edition. Filmmakers Ben Russell (recipient of the Punto de Vista Award to best movie in February 2010) and Naomi Uman, along with film and media curator at the MoMA Josh Siegel and professor Josep Maria Català, will decide the winners in the Official Selection.

Naomi Uman is a filmmaker, visual artist and farmer and adventurer. She works alone, often accompanied by a small dog, exploring the worlds of others and her own. The treasures found on these expeditions are manifest in small films, paintings, handmade clothing, home harvested and cooked meals and now, her first video project. Uman’s films have been exhibited at venues including Sundance, Rotterdam International Film Festival, The New York Film Festival, The San Francisco International Film Festival, The Guggenheim Museum, The Smithsonian, and Whitney Museums as well as Mexico City's Museo de Arte Moderno and Museo El Chopo and Laboratorio Arte Alameda. She has received grants from the Creative Capital, Rockefeller and Guggenheim Foundations as well as the National Endowment for the Arts. Naomi Uman has been living for the past five years in small rural village in Central Ukraine, not far from the small city of Uman.

Joshua Siegel, an Associate Curator in the Department of Film of The Museum of Modern Art, has organized or co-organized more than 90 exhibitions for MoMA, including The New India (2009), Jazz Score (2008), the gallery installation Projects 84: Josiah McElheny (2007); and The Lodz Film School of Poland: 50 Years (1999), for which the Polish government awarded him an amicus poloniae. His monographic exhibitions include Dziga Vertov (opening 2011), Frederick Wiseman (2010), Spike Jonze (2009), Julien Duvivier (2009), Peter Hutton (2008), Michael Haneke (2007), Gregory La Cava (2005), Jem Cohen (2003), Olivier Assayas (2003), Jean Painlevé (2000), Errol Morris (1999), and Marguerite Duras (1996). Since 2002, he has co-organized the annual exhibition To Save and Project: The MoMA International Festival of Film Preservation.  Mr. Siegel is the co-editor of the new publication Frederick Wiseman (MoMA/Gallimard), which features new essays by Errol Morris, David Denby, William T. Vollmann and many others, as well as Wiseman himself.  

Ben Russell (b.1976) is a media artist and curator whose films, installations, and performances have been presented in spaces ranging from 14th Century Belgian monasteries to 17th Century East India Trading Co. buildings, police station basements to outdoor punk squats, Japanese cinematheques to Parisian storefronts, and Chicago bathtubs to Viennese boats. He has had solo screenings and exhibitions at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, the Rotterdam Film Festival, the Wexner Center for the Arts, and the Museum of Modern Art. A 2008 Guggenheim Fellowship and 2010 FIPRESCI award recipient, Ben began the Magic Lantern screening series in Providence, Rhode Island, is co-director of the artist-run space BEN RUSSELL in Chicago, and he currently teaches in the School of Art and Design at the University of Illinois at Chicago. His film Let each one go where he may won in 2010 the Punto de Vista Prize for the best film.

Josep Maria Català Domènech is a professor of Audiovisual Communication. He holds a degree in Modern and Contemporary History from the University of Barcelona, a PhD in Communication Science from the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB), and an MA in Film Theory from the San Francisco State University in California. He is the recipient of the Fundesco Award for Best Essay (La violación de la Mirada: La imagen entre el ojo y el espejo), the Essay Award of the 27th Irún Literary Competition (Elogio de la paranoia), and the Award of the Spanish Association of Film Historians. He is the co-editor of Imagen, memoria y fascinación: notas sobre el documental en España and the author of La puesta en imágenes: conceptos de dirección cinematográfica, La imagen compleja, La forma de lo real: introducción a los estudios visuales, Pasión y conocimiento, and La imagen interfaz: Representación audiovisual y conocimiento en la era de la complejidad. He teaches Image Aesthetics and Audiovisual Narrative at UAB, where he is also the Dean of the School of Communication Science, the Academic Director of the Master’s Programme in Creative Documentary Filmmamking, and Artistic Director of the UAB Film Essay Award.


Gobierno de Navarra Cultura Navarra
Ayuntamiento de Pamplona Centro de Arte Contemporáneo de Huarte Teatro Gayarre
Fundación Caja Navarra Planetario de Pamplona Filmoteca de Navarra Acción Cultural Española

Audio-lab Drac Màgic Artium
Dferia Iberescena Azala Espacio

Radio 3
Uso de cookies:
Este sitio web utiliza cookies, tanto propias como de terceros, para recopilar información estadística sobre su navegación. Si continúa navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Más información